• yoshihiro suda (japan) Anemone, 2004
    Magnolienholz, Pigment | magnolia wood, pigment
    Installationsansicht | installation view museum franz gertsch, Burgdorf, 2004
    Courtesy Galerie Wohnmaschine, Berlin
    ©Verena Gerber-Menz, Burgdorf

east wind

xu bing (china) – fang lijun (china) – yoshihiro suda (japan)

"East wind" is the title of the exhibition in which the museum franz gertsch presents three crucial positions in Far-Eastern contemporary art. For the first time, two of the most important contemporary Chinese artists, Xu Bing and Fang Lijun, will be exhibiting some major works in Switzerland. Works by the young Japanese artist Yoshihiro Suda round out the exhibit. The three together represent an exciting art scene from a part of the world that has been recently intensifying its fruitful dialogue with the Western world through political and economic developments. There is also a more personal dialogue: Franz Gertsch’s work itself has been inspired by a somewhat Eastern breeze – with his meditative approach to the creative process, the philosophical background, the way to perceive nature within a certain pattern of artistic traditions, that is, the particularly intense relation of the artist to time and the material he works with.

Xu Bing (* 1955) is presenting, among other things, his masterpiece "A Book from the Sky“ (1987-91). It is a huge installation piece comprised of many open books scattered on the ground and broad strips of paper hanging from the ceiling, which are completely covered with characters and produced in a traditional woodcut technique. Upon closer examination the characters prove to be "fake“, entirely made-up aesthetic signs not to be read like an alphabet, but purely as an artistic picture. Thanks to this mixture, the installation turns into a meeting-place of old Chinese cultural traditions and Western installation art, while playing on the complex relation of sign and image.

Fang Lijun (* 1963) also works in woodcut. His immense works on paper – more than 400 x 700 cm – deal with the human struggle for survival, the relation and tension between the individual and the mass, self-assertion and social or political commitment.

Yoshiro Suda‘s (* 1969) minutely carved flower sculptures seem to grow out of nothing, white space, or the ground. In their pure and minimalist style, they complement the monumental works of the Chinese artists displayed in the exhibition. In Suda’s work, ikebana, the Japanese art of flower arrangement fuses with the aesthetics of the white cube. Nature and conceptualism come together in crystal clarity.

The exhibition catalogue includes texts by Marcel Schumacher and Reinhard Spieler.

east wind

• yoshihiro suda (japan) Anemone, 2004
    Magnolienholz, Pigment | magnolia wood, pigment
    Installationsansicht | installation view museum franz gertsch, Burgdorf, 2004
    Courtesy Galerie Wohnmaschine, Berlin
    ©Verena Gerber-Menz, Burgdorf

ostwind

xu bing (china) – fang lijun (china) – yoshihiro suda (japan)

Unter dem Titel "ostwind" zeigt das museum franz gertsch drei exemplarische zeitgenössische künstlerische Positionen aus Fernost. Mit Xu Bing und Fang Lijun werden die beiden derzeit wohl bekanntesten und wichtigsten chinesischen Künstler erstmals mit Hauptwerken in der Schweiz vorgestellt, hinzu kommt mit Yoshihiro Suda ein junger japanischer Künstler. Damit richten wir den Blick auf eine der künstlerisch derzeit aufregendsten Regionen, die aufgrund politischer und wirtschaftlicher Entwicklungen in einen spannenden Dialog mit dem Westen getreten ist. Zum anderen geht es aber auch um einen persönlichen Dialog: um Wesensverwandtschaften wie der meditativen Versenkung im Arbeitsprozess, dem philosophischen Zugang zu Natur und künstlerischer Tradition und schliesslich auch dem besonderen Verhältnis zu Material und Zeit, wie sie gleichsam als fernöstlicher Windhauch im Werk von Franz Gertsch spürbar sind.

Xu Bing (* 1955) zeigt u.a. seine imposante Arbeit „A Book from the Sky“ (1987-91), eine raumgreifende Installation aus einer Vielzahl von auf dem Boden ausgebreiteten, aufgeschlagenen Büchern und langen, von der Decke hängenden Papierbahnen, die in traditioneller Holzschnitttechnik mit unzähligen Schriftzeichen bedeckt sind. Die Schriftzeichen allerdings entpuppen sich als „Attrappe“, als frei erfundene ästhetische Zeichen, die nicht mehr als Schriftzeichen zu lesen sind, sondern als rein künstlerisches Bild. Alte chinesische Kulturtradition und westliche Installationskunst, Zeichen und Bild treffen unmittelbar aufeinander.

Auch Fang Lijun (* 1963) arbeitet im Medium der Holzschnitttechnik. Seine riesigen, mehr als 400 x 700 cm messenden Papierarbeiten beschäftigen sich mit dem menschlichen Überlebenskampf im Spannungsverhältnis von Individuum und Masse, von Selbstbehauptung und sozialem bzw. politischem Engagement.

Yoshihiro Sudas (* 1969) absolut perfekt geschnitzten Blumenskulpturen wachsen gleichsam aus dem Nichts des weissen Raums bzw. des Bodens heraus und bilden einen puristisch-minimalistischen Gegenpol zu den Monumentalarbeiten der anderen beiden Künstler. Die japanische Kunst des Blumenarrangements verbindet sich mit der Ästhetik des white cube, Natur und künstlerisches Konzept gewinnen in kristalliner Reinheit Form.

Zur Ausstellung erscheint ein Katalog mit Texten Marcel Schumacher und Reinhard Spieler.

ostwind