• Franz Gertsch
    Herbst, 2007/08
    Acryl auf ungrundierter Baumwolle
    Acrylic on unprimed cotton
    325 x 490 cm
    Besitz von / Collection of Franz Gertsch & Maria Gertsch-Meer
    © Franz Gertsch

Franz Gertsch. Three paintings from the cycle of the Four Seasons

Franz Gertsch (born 1930) is currently working on the completion of his cycle of the Four Seasons with the painting “Spring”. So far, “Fall” (2007/08), “Summer” (2008/09) and “Winter” (2009) are on show in the museum.

A new creative period began for Franz Gertsch with the work on “Herbst”. He sketched directly on the canvas with watercolour pens for the first time and worked for a long time without a slide projector. The application of paint appears freer and yet the painting still makes an astonishingly photo-realistic impression when seen from a distance. In order to see Herbst in focus as a sundrenched, autumnally shaded wooded landscape, the viewer must step back quite a bit. However, the painting is also particularly fascinating when seen from close up; it becomes abstract and seemingly starts to flicker. While the play between viewing the painting from up close and the photo-realistic impression one gets at a distance is evenly matched in his earlier pictures, the balance now seems to have shifted in favor of painting.

The presentation of the three now completed seasons in one room demonstrates how the paintings harmonize in terms of color. Franz Gertsch restricts himself to a limited palette, to a few self-made hues made of earth and mineral pigments among others. While looking at the three paintings of the seasons, the color tonalities of the individual paintings interlink, certain tones are taken up again from one painting to the next. The interplay between subject, painting style and color scheme, between perception and effect occurring in each work is heightened even further in the interaction between the pictures.

Franz Gertsch. Three paintings from the cycle of the Four Seasons

• Franz Gertsch
    Herbst, 2007/08
    Acryl auf ungrundierter Baumwolle
    Acrylic on unprimed cotton
    325 x 490 cm
    Besitz von / Collection of Franz Gertsch & Maria Gertsch-Meer
    © Franz Gertsch

Franz Gertsch. Drei Gemälde aus dem Vier Jahreszeiten-Zyklus

In diesem Moment malt Franz Gertsch (*1930) an der Vollendung seines Vier Jahreszeiten-Zyklus, am Gemälde „Frühling“. Im Museum sind bisher „Herbst“ (2007/08), „Sommer“ (2008/2009) und „Winter“ (2009) zu sehen.

Mit dem „Herbst“ setzte bei Franz Gertsch eine neue Schaffensphase ein: Er skizzierte erstmals mit Aquarellfarbstiften direkt auf die Leinwand und arbeitete längere Zeit ohne den Dia-Projektor. Der Farbauftrag erscheint freier, trotzdem ist die Fernwirkung des Gemäldes weiterhin frappierend fotorealistisch. Um den Herbst scharf zu sehen, muss der Betrachter weit zurücktreten; aus der Nähe wirkt das Gemälde abstrakt und beginnt beinahe vor den Augen zu flimmern. Während bei seinen früheren Gemälden das Spiel zwischen der Betrachtung der Malerei aus der Nähe und des fotorealistischen Eindrucks aus der Ferne einen ausgeglichenen Wechsel bietet, scheint sich nun das Gleichgewicht zugunsten der Malerei zu verschieben.

Die Präsentation der bisher vollendeten drei Jahreszeitengemälde in einem Raum zeigt, wie die Werke farblich harmonieren. Franz Gertsch beschränkt sich auf eine reduzierte Farbpalette, auf wenige, aus Mineral-, Erd- und anderen Pigmenten selbst hergestellte Farbtöne. Bei der Betrachtung der drei Jahreszeiten verbinden sich die Farbklänge der einzelnen Gemälde miteinander, bestimmte Farbtöne werden von einem Werk zum anderen wieder aufgenommen. Das Wechselspiel, das in jedem einzelnen Gemälde zwischen Sujet, Malweise und Farbgebung, zwischen Wahrnehmung und Wirkung stattfindet, wird im Zusammenspiel der Gemälde noch einmal verstärkt.

Franz Gertsch. Drei Gemälde aus dem Vier Jahreszeiten-Zyklus