• Utagawa Hiroshige
    Hara, 14. Station der Tōkaidō, 1850
    Farbholzschnitt
    18 x 23 cm
    Museum für Völkerkunde Burgdorf
    Foto: David Aebi, Burgdorf

Hiroshige & Kunisada. Fascinating Colour Woodcuts

The exhibition in the Print Room consists of three complementary sections, beginning with a selection of prints from Utagawa Hiroshige’s Fifty-three Stations of the Tōkaidō (1850, Kichizo Edition), which capture Japan’s landscapes poetically and metaphorically. Utagawa Kunisada’s Fifty-three Stations of the Tōkaidō (1852) features portraits of kabuki actors in costume. The backgrounds of the prints reference Hiroshige’s works and demonstrate the smooth transition between the various genres and playful elements of the art of printing. The emergence of the Meiji period after the death of the two artists and the end of the Edo period is characterized by the opening of Japan and the growing influence of the West. The political, social and artistic changes of this time are also expressed in the contemporary colour woodcuts that conclude the exhibition and bridge the gap between feudal Japan and the dawn of a new Japan.

UTAGAWA Hiroshige (歌川広重, 1797–1858) was an artist from Edo who had a decisive influence on landscape prints (meisho-e). Inspired by illustrations in Japanese travel guides, Hiroshige produced an abundance of prints and series depicting places of interest in Japan. He likewise made diverse series of beautiful women (bijin-ga) as well as illustrations of birds and flowers (kachō-e). His most famous series include One Hundred Famous Views of Edo, Fifty-three Stations of the Tōkaidō (numerous editions) und Famous Restaurants from the Eastern Capital. Hiroshige also produced surimono (privately commissioned prints for greeting cards) and collaborated with other artists, for example with Kunisada.

UTAGAWA Kunisada (歌川国貞, 1786–1865) was an artist from Edo best known for his portraits of beautiful women (bijin-ga) and kabuki actors (yakusha-e). Regarded as the most popular artist of his day, he produced a remarkable number of illustrations. The wide-ranging repertory of this industrious artist encompasses sumō pictures (sumō-e), illustrations for Genji Monogatari (The Tale of Genji) as well as surimono and erotica (shunga). One of his best known series, which appeared in diverse editions, is Fifty-three Stations of the Tōkaidō depicting portraits of celebrated kabuki actors.

This exhibition is the first of three shows with objects from the collection of the Museum für Völkerkunde Burgdorf that mark the 150th anniversary of the opening of diplomatic relations between Japan and Switzerland in 2014. The second exhibition, “Entdeckerlust—Burgdorfer in Ostasien,” will open on October 16, 2014 in Burgdorf Castle. The final show entitled “Collecting Japan – nihon o yobiyoseru” will open on November 21, 2014 in the Cultural Center of the Japanese Embassy (JICC) in Bern.

The exhibition was curated by Marie-Anne Pinheiro and Rebeca Gomez Morilla.

An eBook is being planned that is expected to be available in the summer/fall 2015.

http://www.projektburgdorf.org

http://www.kulturschloss.ch

Hiroshige & Kunisada. Fascinating Colour Woodcuts

In collaboration with the Museum für Völkerkunde Burgdorf, the Section for East Asian Art of the University of Zurich’s Institute of Art History (Professor Hans Bjarne Thomsen) and the Interessensverein Völkerkundesammlung Burgdorf, the Museum Franz Gertsch is exhibiting fascinating Japanese colour woodcuts in the Print Room by such artists as Hiroshige and Kunisada. The works from the collection of the Museum für Völkerkunde Burgdorf are being shown publically for the first time.

• Utagawa Hiroshige
    Hara, 14. Station der Tōkaidō, 1850
    Farbholzschnitt
    18 x 23 cm
    Museum für Völkerkunde Burgdorf
    Foto: David Aebi, Burgdorf

Hiroshige & Kunisada. Faszinierende Farbholzschnitte

Die Ausstellung im Kabinett besteht aus drei sich ergänzenden Teilen, beginnend mit einer Auswahl von Drucken aus Hiroshiges 53 Stationen der Tōkaidō von 1850, in denen die Landschaften Japans poetisch und metaphorisch eingefangen werden. Kunisadas 53 Stationen der Tōkaidō von 1852 sind Portraits von Kabukischauspielern gewidmet. Die Hintergründe der Blätter verweisen auf Hiroshiges Werke und zeigen den fliessenden Übergang zwischen den verschiedenen Genres und den spielerischen Elementen der Druckkunst. Den Abschluss der Ausstellung bilden Farbholzschnitte aus der Meiji-Zeit. Diese ist stark durch die Öffnung Japans und die zunehmenden westlichen Einflüsse geprägt. Veränderungen in Politik, Gesellschaft und Kunst finden ihren Niederschlag auch in den Farbholzschnitten dieser Zeit und schlagen eine Brücke zwischen dem feudalen Japan und dem neuen Japan.

UTAGAWA Hiroshige (歌川広重, 1797-1858) war ein Künstler aus Edo und beeinflusste die Landschaftsdrucke (meisho-e) massgeblich. Von den Illustrationen japanischer Reiseführer inspiriert, kreierte Hiroshige eine Fülle an Drucken und Serien zu den Sehenswürdigkeiten Japans. Ebenso gestaltete er diverse Serien zu schönen Frauen (bijin-ga) und Vögel-Blumen-Bildern (kachō-e). Zu seinen bekanntesten Serien gehören Die Hundert berühmten Ansichten von Edo, Die 53 Stationen der Tōkaidō (mehrere Editionen) und Die berühmten Restaurants von Edo. Hiroshige schuf auch surimono (private Auftragsarbeiten für Glückwunschdrucke) und arbeitete mit anderen Künstlern zusammen, wie zum Beispiel Kunisada.

UTAGAWA Kunisada (歌川国貞, 1786-1865) war ein Künstler aus Edo, vor allem bekannt für seine Bilder schöner Frauen (bijin-ga) und Portraits von Kabukischauspielern (yakusha-e). Er galt als der beliebteste Künstler seiner Zeit und produzierte eine beeindruckende Zahl an Illustrationen. Sein Repertoire war breit gefächert, so produzierte er Sumōbilder (sumō-e), Illustrationen zum Genji Monogatari (Die Geschichte des Prinzen Genji), sowie surimono und erotische Bilder (shunga). Eine der bekanntesten und in verschiedenen Editionen erschienene Serie ist Die 53 Stationen der Tōkaidō in Form von Portraits zelebrierter Kabukischauspieler.

Diese Ausstellung ist die erste von drei Ausstellungen, welche 2014 zum 150-jährigen Bestehen diplomatischer Beziehungen zwischen Japan und der Schweiz mit Objekten aus der Sammlung des Museum für Völkerkunde Burgdorf realisiert werden. Am 16.10.2014 eröffnet im Schloss Burgdorf die Ausstellung ‚Entdeckerlust – Burgdorfer in Ostasien‘ und am 21.11.2014 eröffnet im Kulturzentrum der japanischen Botschaft (JICC) in Bern die Ausstellung ‚Collecting Japan - nihon o yobiyoseru‘.

Die Ausstellung wurde kuratiert von Marie-Anne Pinheiro und Rebeca Gomez Morilla.

Ein eBook ist in Planung und wird voraussichtlich im Sommer/Herbst 2015 erhältlich sein.

http://www.projektburgdorf.org

http://www.kulturschloss.ch

Hiroshige & Kunisada. Faszinierende Farbholzschnitte

In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Museum für Völkerkunde Burgdorf, Vertretern der Abteilung Kunstgeschichte Ostasiens des kunsthistorischen Instituts der Universität Zürich (unter der Leitung von Prof. Dr. Hans Bjarne Thomsen) und dem Interessensverein Völkerkundesammlung Burgdorf zeigt das Museum Franz Gertsch im Kabinett faszinierende Farbholzschnitte aus Japan, unter anderem von Hiroshige und Kunisada. Die Werke aus der Sammlung des Museum für Völkerkunde Burgdorf werden zum ersten Mal ausgestellt.