• Lucio Fontana
    Concetto spaziale, Natura, 1959-60
    Bronze | bronze
    Fondazione Lucio Fontana Mailand
    © 2004 aller Werke Fondazione Lucio Fontana, Mailand

lucio fontana

Lucio Fontana (1899-1968) was one of the most significant personalities in European post-war art but also one of the most controversial. His renown began with the radical gesture of perforating and slashing monochrome canvases. By lacerating the traditional surface of a picture, he opened up a new dimension in the tangible experience of space through an illusionistic representation of space. For the viewer, therefore, the image becomes a clearly palpable experience of space combining formal and individual genres in terms of content.

As Fontana wrote in 1946 in his well-known Manifesto bianco, “We need a change in essence and in form. We need to go beyond painting, sculpture, poetry and music. We need a greater Art, in harmony with the requirements of the new spirit.” Perforated canvases, sculptures in the most variegated materials, room-filling neon installations as well as designs for stage scenery are witness to his creative power. During his whole life, however, and in line with his universalistic way of thought, Fontana kept the traditional genres of drawing, painting and sculpture as the point of departure for his work. In content, his works are closely interwoven with the sciences and the new media of his time which is why his work depicts the fluctuating relationship between the traditional and the modern.

The "Lucio Fontana"-exhibition in the museum franz gertsch has gathered works from his famous Buchi (Holes), Tagli (Cuts) and Teatrini (Little Theatres) that up to now have rarely been exhibited. He created a prolific amount of graphic work with abstract motifs as well as figures, little-known in the art world, at the same time as he was producing his abstract perforated works. This collection will be exhibited for the first time. It includes numerous studies for the sculptures, neon installations and early drawings of robot-like creatures as well as large brush and ink drawings of female nudes. Thanks to the generous co-operation of the Fondazione Lucio Fontana in Milan, Italy, it is now possible to show the collection of drawings on this scale. A further highlight of the exhibition is the reconstruction of the Ambiente spaziale bianco with which Fontana caused a sensation in the international art world in 1968 at the Documenta IV in Kassel. This exhibition in the museum franz gertsch will be the first in fifteen years in Switzerland that gives an overview of Lucio Fontana’s works.

An exhibition catalogue with contributions by Lóránd Hegyi, René Hirner, Ursula Köhler, Anna Pfeiffer, Reinhard Spieler and Wendelin Renn will be published by Hatje Cantz in German. There will also be a brief introduction to the exhibition in English and German written by Pirkko Rathgeber.

lucio fontana

• Lucio Fontana
    Concetto spaziale, Natura, 1959-60
    Bronze | bronze
    Fondazione Lucio Fontana Mailand
    © 2004 aller Werke Fondazione Lucio Fontana, Mailand

lucio fontana

Als einer der bedeutendsten Persönlichkeiten der europäischen Nachkriegskunst ist Lucio Fontana (1899-1968) zugleich einer der widersprüchlichsten seiner Zeit. Bekannt geworden ist Fontana mit der radikalen Geste seiner Schnitte und Perforierungen monochromer Leinwände. Mit der Verletzung der traditionellen Bildoberfläche eröffnete er der illusionistischen Darstellung des Raumes eine neue Dimension der konkreten Erfahrung des Raumes im Bild. Bildraum wird damit für den Betrachter als Erfahrungsraum konkret spürbar und verbindet formal wie inhaltlich einzelne Gattungen.

So heisst es in Fontanas berühmten Manifesto Bianco von 1946: „Notwendig ist eine Veränderung von Inhalt und Form. Notwendig ist die Überwindung von Malerei, Bildhauerei, Dichtung und Musik. Wir brauchen eine umfassendere Kunst, die den Bedürfnissen des neuen Geistes entspricht.“ Perforierte Leinwände, Skulpturen in unterschiedlichsten Materialien, raumgreifende Neonarbeiten sowie Bühnenbildentwürfe zeugen von seinem kreativen Schaffensprozess. Fontana blieb jedoch in seinem universalistischen Denken zeitlebens den traditionellen Gattungen der Zeichnung, Malerei und Skulptur als Ausgangspunkt verbunden. Inhaltlich sind Fontanas Arbeiten eng mit der Wissenschaft und den neuen Medien seiner Zeit verknüpft und verweisen so auch auf das wechselseitige Verhältnis von Tradition und Moderne in seinem Werk.

Die Ausstellung "Lucio Fontana" im museum franz gertsch versammelt Werke seiner berühmten Buchi (Löcher), Tagli (Schnitte) und Teatrini (Kleine Theater) die bisher selten präsentiert wurden. Parallel zu seinen perforierten abstrakten Arbeiten entstand ein reiches grafisches Werk mit abstrakten wie auch figürlichen Arbeiten, die der Kunstwelt bisher weitgehend unbekannt geblieben sind. Erstmalig präsentiert die Ausstellung diese Werkgruppe mit zahlreichen Studien zu figurativen Skulpturen und Neonarbeiten, frühe Zeichnungen von Roboterwesen sowie grossformatigen Tuschpinselzeichnungen von Frauenakten. Dank dem grosszügigen Entgegenkommen der Fondazione Lucio Fontana in Mailand kann die Werkgruppe der Zeichnungen erstmals in diesem Umfang gezeigt werden. Ein weiterer Höhepunkt der Ausstellung bildet die Rekonstruktion des Ambiente spaziale bianco mit der Fontana bei der Documenta IV in Kassel 1968 beim internationalen Kunstpublikum Furore machte.

Zur Ausstellung erscheint ein Katalog mit Texten von Lóránd Hegyi, René Hirner, Ursula Köhler, Anna Pfeiffer, Reinhard Spieler und Wendelin Renn im Hatje Cantz Verlag in deutscher Sprache. Sowie ein Kurzführer zur Ausstellung mit einem Text von Pirkko Rathgeber in deutscher und englischer Sprache.

lucio fontana